Scrap Flower
Most of my projects require very specific sizes of paper, and as a result, I have a whole box of paper scraps sitting in my living room… So in order to remedy my scrap paper problem I stumbled around for a tutorial for paper flowers and came across Helen Croft’s Scrap a Little blog and this paper flower tutorial! What I love so much about this tutorial is that it combines a little bit of craftiness and a little bit of folding — the perfect combination for Japanese chiyogami paper! And it is easy for people like me to understand which is always a definite plus in my book.

So this is what I came up with! I did not have any cute buttons to glue on top, so I tried to make a little flower center with hot glue, seed beeds, and wire. I made the clear and purple part first by threading beads onto the wire, and then made a little mound of hot glue on top to which I sprinkled the seed beeds. I think it looks pretty cute and gives a different texture to the center. You can get a better idea by looking at the close-up photo below.

Scrap Flower Scrap Flower

I think this would look awesome on top of packages or for use in any scrapbook that doesn’t mind a little extra volume on the page. I could also see it being used in some kind of paper sculpture or card!

I am excited to some her other flower tutorials to get rid of this ever-growing pile!

