On my small netbook, I run a small, netbook-specific Linux OS called Jolicloud.  It has a wonderful repository of web-apps that you can browse through and try out.  Usually those apps have been beneficial to my work, but not to my origami…  That is, until I came across a cool app that was recently added:  Carbonmade.

Although you need to pay for unlimited space, you can get a small, free account (named the “Meh” package) which allows up to five “Projects” and 35 images.  The portfolio site does not require any html to construct, and the end result was quite pleasant.  You can have your choice of background and font, and have a great deal of control over the way the images are displayed  Although I only have 35 images to play with, I was quite pleased with my ability to showcase some of my favorite pieces on here.

Although I think the site caters more to those in the graphic arts, I think the site in an indispensable, stream-lined way to present your work to others.  They even have an option that you can check to let others know that you are available for freelance work.  And hey — crafters need portfolios too!

