Well I have been experimenting with different kinds of resin/coating to see what would best protect my little cranes for the earrings and, by george I think she’s got it!

From Ume Blog

I tried with several layers of polyurethane and although the cranes kept their paper quality, they were still liable to be bent and deformed if someone wasn’t careful. Then I tried with straight resin and I loved the texture, but the resin warped some of the paper (especially traditional chiyogami paper). So the solution? 1 good coat of polyurethane followed by 1 coat of resin.

From Ume Blog

The resin coating didn’t penetrate the polyurethane, and the colors look very vibrant under the strong gloss of the resin. And the best part? The cranes have become somewhat like plastic. They can be bent a little, but will not break from brittleness… Great for earrings or any other project! Time permitting, I want to turn a few of these into earrings and get them up in the shop by the end of the week.

